Search the Miamisburg Website
 

 
house
History
Facts & Figures
Spring Fling
City Schools
Sister City
Mound Facility
Public Library
Montgomery County
State of Ohio
Site Map
Hillgrove Cemetery

 


History Print E-mail

In the Beginning

On Feb. 20, 1818, four men from Pennsylvania -- Emanuel Gebhart, Jacob Kercher, Dr. John Treon and Dr. Peter Treon -- offered for sale at public auction 90 lots in a new town by the name of Miamisburg. Situated on the left bank of the Miami River, the plat was divided into square lots containing one-fifth of an acre.

The small community had been known as "Hole's Station" since about 1797, when Zachariah Hole settled there with his family from Virginia and built a stockade as protection from Indians. In the interim, many settlers had arrived in the area, mostly from Pennsylvania. The name Miamisburg was derived from the Miami Indian tribe that resided there, combining "Miamis" with "burg," which denotes a borough or town. By 1832, the unincorporated community had become a village and achieved City status about 100 years later.

Local Landmarks

Indian Mound (pictured above) - Once serving as an ancient burial site, the Mound stands as perhaps the most recognizable historic landmark in Miamisburg. It is the largest conical burial Mound east of the Mississippi River and remains virtually intact from its origins hundreds of years ago. Located in a City park at 900 Mound Avenue, it is an Ohio historical site and serves as a popular attraction and picnic destination for area families. Visitors can climb to the top of the Mound via concrete steps built into its side.

Daniel Gebhart Tavern - Serving during the 1800s as a gathering place for local residents and as a resting place for travelers, Imageit stands today  as a museum at the corner of Lock and Old Main streets. The museum is open June through September on Sundays from 2 to 5 p.m., or by appointment. The Miamisburg Historical Society (see info below) coordinates the Museum's use.

Baum Opera House - This historic structure was built by Image Charlie Baum in the late 1800s on
what is now First Street in downtown Miamisburg. It has had a number of unique uses over the years, but faced possible demolition in the early 1990s when the non-profit Baum Opera House Association was formed and purchased the building at a sheriff's sale. Extensive interior and exterior renovations have occurred since that time, and today the facility hosts entertainment and community events and is available for rental. Visit www.baumoperahouse.com for more information.

Miamisburg Historical Society

The Miamisburg Historical Society is a volunteer organization dedicated to the collection and preservation of data, artifacts and memorabilia relating to the history of the Star City and Miami Township. The Society hosts a variety of programs throughout the year for the general public and is headquartered in the Market Square Building in the heart of downtown.

Contact the Miamisburg Historical Society at 937/859-5000 or P.O. Box 774, Miamisburg, Ohio, 45342-0774. Historic Miamisburg Memories of the Star City is a half-hour interview program cablecast monthly on channel 5 of the Time Warner system. Please check local listings for dates and times. The Miamisburg Historical Society is certified by the Ohio Association of Historical Societies and Museums.

 

 


Miamisburg Civic Center 10 North First Street, Miamisburg OH 45342 | phone: 937.866.3303 | fax: 937. 866. 0891
email: manager@cityofmiamisburg.org
 
Welcome to the City of Miamisburg Ohio
Untitled Document